Incurable Curiosity

In-cur-able: (adj.) Not likely to be changed. Cu-ri-os-i-ty: (n) A desire to know.

Photo Series 2: Still Life

Leave a comment

Still Life. It’s a style of photography that I hadn’t really looked at before this challenge. I’d always associated it with paintings. And I figured it would be an uninteresting couple of weeks.

There’s a kind of science to still life that can’t be produced in the genres I’m used to – in fact, I always leaned away from manipulating the subjects of my photography (mostly flowers or outdoor scenes). I didn’t expect to enjoy staging a shot, especially when it was late at night and I realized that I hadn’t touched the camera all day. But enjoy it I did. Yes, I missed a couple of days here and there, but when I took the time to do it right, the effort was worth it.

Looking through the collection, it’s pretty obvious that I didn’t spend as much time on this series as I should have. I think I like Day 22 the best – it was certainly the most fun of the series to photograph, and I think the line of the flower is good. As seen in days 19, 22, 23, and 28, I like playing with shadows.

What do you think? Which side did I play in the chess game? Is there something you’d like to see in my upcoming series, Black & White? Comment below!

You can start with 'Hello' and go from there