Incurable Curiosity

In-cur-able: (adj.) Not likely to be changed. Cu-ri-os-i-ty: (n) A desire to know.

A Million Miles In A Thousand Years – Book Review

Leave a comment

Title: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life. Author: Donald Miller. Date of Original Publishing: 2009. Genre: Memoir.

Summary: This book is the author’s account of what it was like to edit his life story for adaptation into a movie. It is also a challenge to the reader to re-evaluate their life.

Sampling of Content:

“Somehow we realize that great stories are told in conflict, but we are unwilling to embrace the potential greatness of the story we are actually in.”

“Humans are designed to seek comfort and order, and so if they have comfort and order, they tend to plant themselves, even if their comfort isn’t all that comfortable. And even if they secretly want for something better.”

My Thoughts: From this I learned to see my life as a story. I may not agree with everything the author says, but I think he’s on to something with that perspective. What would be changed about my life story if it were made into a movie? What would be changed about my character, the supporting characters, and plot line? More importantly, is the current story one that I would gladly tell its Author about?

Conclusion: Miller’s style of writing may not be for everyone, but there are some very thought-provoking ideas in the midst of the uniqueness.

You can start with 'Hello' and go from there

